DigiMix Records - Chris Cox

  | Home | About us| Artists | Songwriters | Releases - Shop | Licensing | Publishing | Links | Contact us | 

DigiMix Records

Chris Cox

Picture - Chris CoxBIOGRAPHY: Chris Cox

Ever since hearing the distant strain of the Beach Boys' "Don't Worry Baby" from a tinny transistor radio somewhere floating over a sultry summer evening while on holiday in France as a kid I have been captivated by the emotional power of the perfect 3 minute song.

I guess I've been trying to recreate that sensation, on and off ever since. In my musical life I am a songwriter, guitarist and double bass player living in Oxford, England, UK. I write and record experimenting with arrangements and vocals and what instrumentation is within my scope (including Mandolin and keyboards).

As a songwriter I have also written songs for other singers in various bands I have played with. What most inspires are good songs with melody, structure and decent lyrics in whatever genre - so long as it presses that button, I really don't care.

Along the way I learned to play double bass - turns out to have been a useful meal ticket to get to play with loads of different musicians and different styles. Currently I play Jazz Double Bass with trios and quartets, and at the moment I'm recording and gigging with The Burglars (an acoustic swing / blues band from Cambridge, England, UK).

As a songwriter I mostly write and compose both words and music, but also collaborate with other lyricists which is also great as they can often stimulate musical ideas that I wouldn't have normally gone into. On this album release John Dyer as a co-writer of the lyrics for the song Liberation Day is a good example.

I like to work with other acoustic musicians especially to swop Protools recording tips / techniques - that whole home recording thing - which I wish had been available when I started all those years ago! It is also interesting and rewarding working with other musicians such as Robb Appleton for the harp playing on five of the tracks in the "Even the Willows are Weeping" release.

My influences in music are: Steely Dan, The Beatles, Brian Wilson, Nickel Creek, Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, Rueben Gonzales, David Grisman, Robyn Hitchcock, Cole Porter, Joni Mitchell, Brian and Andy Townend, Mick Audsley, J S Bach, L v Beethoven, Alison Krauss & Union Station, John Dyer, The Cambridge Mafia, Stevie Wonder etc etc

This contemporary folk based release "Even the Willows are Weeping" which was completed in Dec 2007 is released digitally on the Digimix Records Label and should be available for download worldwide in June 2008.

01 Mr Wilson - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music)
02 I Spy - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music)
03 We Fit Together - (Peter Cox) (Tyke Music)
04 Once Upon A Time - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music)
05 Blue Baby - (Peter Cox) (Ann Dex Music)
06 Scared of Milk - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music)
07 To be or not to be - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music)
08 123 Forever - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music)
09 Obvious - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music)
10 Even the Willows are Weeping - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music)
11 The Long of it - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music / Cringe Music)
12 Liberation Day - (Peter Cox / John Dyer) (Scamp Music)
13 Half as Nice - (Peter Cox) (Ann Dex Music)
14 God Loves the Hammond Organ - (Peter Cox) (Scamp Music)


All Tracks: Chris Cox (guitar -bass - mandolin- keyboards - percussion)

Tracks 1,3,8, 12, 14: Robb Appleton (harmonica)

Track 4: Kenny Hung (piano)

MY SPACE URL: www.myspace.com/chriscoxwordsandmusic

Contact us at: panamus@aol.com


Digimix Records Limited. Ebrel House, 2A Penlee Close, Praa Sands, Cornwall TR20 9SR England. UK

Telephone: +44 (0)1736 762826 - Email: panamus@aol.com

Digimix Records Limited
Registered office: Canterbury, Kent, England
Registered in England & Wales - Registration No:6175737

© 2007 - 2020 DigiMix Records Limited